Behind the scenes look at “Haven”

“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.” – Thoreau

Here are some behind the scenes and a nice walk through the foggy woods in Maine. I wanted to create the piece “Haven” as a way to find my connection to nature again. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about Thoreau’s quote and what it would be like to be one with nature.

We had spent some time wandering around the woods in my backyard when we stumbled upon a mossy stump in the middle of a clear patch of forest. It was so foggy, quiet, and peaceful, I knew I had to create something there. I wanted to play on the idea of camouflage. That maybe if I stood still long enough, nature would take me back. I’ve been longing for solitude and wanting to feel connected to nature again.

lulu-9694

lulu-9686 lulu-0002 lulu-9687 lulu-9691 lulu-9689

Behind the scenes shots of making the evergreen wings.

lulu-9717 lulu-9723

wingsalq

One thought on “Behind the scenes look at “Haven”

Leave a Reply

